Contentment: My Continual Struggle

Back in June I wrote a blog “The Grass isn’t so Green on the Other Side” it is basically talking about covetousness and not being content with the things that I have. Not surprisingly I am here again, on un-contentment drive. I feel like everything I own is falling apart, literally! We have enough money for what we need, but not for all those “extra expenses” like a new TV or the money to get our TV fixed. We have more than a lot of people have, a house, working appliances and even this computer I am using right now. I think God is trying to show me in my material things and in my relationships that I need to be content. I am ever so grateful that He is merciful and patient with me. I keep slipping into the sin of covetousness and God keeps forgiving me! I guess every time that I slip into that sin I will revisit what the Bible says and maybe just maybe one day I will slip into this sin less and less. I decided to go to Biblegateway.com and look up the key word content (here are my results).

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:9-11 ESV)

Exodus 2:21 took me to the story of when Moses had to leave Egypt to escape the consequences of his actions in killing a man. He may have thought he was doing the Hebrews a favor in protecting them, however, his action wasn’t even appreciated. Moses ended up leaving Egypt, the only thing he ever knew, and his family. He went to Midian and helped the priest of Midian’s daughter watering their flock. The priest of Midian was impressed with Moses and not only fed him, but he also gave him a place to stay and gave him one of his daughters. Moses lost all that he had and was rejected by his people, but Moses found contentment in his situation and God blessed him with a son.

“Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.”(Philippians 4:11 ESV)

In Luke 3 John was baptizing the people and more people saw this and came to John asking him questions because they to wanted to be baptized. Some soilders came to him and asked him “And we, what shall we do?” John replied to them and told them “Do not extort money from anyone by threats or by false accusation, and be content with your wages.” (Luke 3:14) John the Baptist told the soilders to be content with what they had! The Soilders were people just like I am a person. I need to be content with what I have as well, because that is pleasing to The Lord and that is exactly what I want.

“godliness with contentment is great gain”(1 Timothy 6:6 ESV)

I love being able to look back and see where God got my attention on something. In my head I know He cares, but I don’t always feel it in my heart and when He communicates to me somehow I know in my mind, heart and soul that He cares! Over the weekend I was struggling with wanting new things because all of my “stuff” is falling apart. Well, Monday morning I woke up and read my usual devotional from Proverbs 31 Ministries, but then when I decided to check my twitter account, which I haven’t checked in a while, I came across another devotional I wasn’t even aware of. It was a devotional on contentment!! God knew what I needed to hear and it was like the author of the devotional wrote it just for me. “Are you content?”

“Two things I ask of you;
deny them not to me before I die:
Remove far from me falsehood and lying;
give me neither poverty nor riches;
feed me with the food that is needful for me,
 lest I be full and deny you
and say, ‘Who is the Lord?’
or lest I be poor and steal
and profane the name of my God.”
(Proverbs 30: 7-9 ESV)

Leave a Reply

