Readings and Videos From My Week

~One blog I read this week is by Megan from hiphomeschoolmoms.com called “Teaching and Choosing Contentment”~ If you know anything about me I have a  struggle with not being content. As I watch my kids struggle with this I have become aware that they are unaware of the  bad that can come from not being content . For example my youngest son (7 yrs) always wants something new. His room is filled with toys, but as soon as he gets money in his hands he wants to spend it on a new toy. My middle son (14 yrs) is more of an online shopper. I have been teaching him to wait a few days to be sure he wants it, 99% of the time he changes his mind. The blog Teaching and Choosing Contentment is a good lesson for us in two ways: It gives us an idea to help our kids become content and it helps us to see that we also need to learn to be content. I don’t know about you, but the more I can cram in my little mind about being content the better off I will be, I hope.

~With the elections coming up Pastor Shane Idleman gives us somethings to think about in his article What should a Christian’s political stance be? I really like how he doesn’t bring up any politicians names and just gives us advise.

I just got done reading The Runaway Pastor’s Wife For the most part this was a good read. It is a clean read, but it didn’t pull me toward God and my favorite kind of fiction or any book for that matter is the ones that keep me thinking about God and pondering His Word. The ending was disappointing and a little rushed. I would not read this book again, but I would still recommend it because overall it is pretty good entertainment.

~A wolf in sheep clothing shows his true colors once again, Rick Warren is once again leading others astray. “Muslim Woman Concludes “Islam Is All About Living A Purpose-Driven Life” After Hearing Rick Warren on ‘Lifeclass’” If you haven’t heard of this “Lifeclass” it is a show by Oprah. Be careful people, who you listen to, don’t be easily deceived.

~”Brothers, if anyone is caught in any transgression, you who are spiritual should restore him in a spirit of gentleness. Keep watch on yourself, lest you too be tempted. Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.” (Galatians 6:1-2 ESV) Are you open to be the one who receives this from your family and friends? I know it is easy to be the one who points out another person’s sin, but do you receive it humbly? Take the advise from Kimberly Wagner in her blog “You Can Get In My Face

~Midweek Sermon, good stuff! 9/29/2012 “Proverbs 3: He Shall Direct Your Path” — Pastor Shane Idleman from Westside Christian Fellowship on Vimeo.

~”Non-Exploding Soda Can – Cool Science Experiment” is a very cool short video. When you have a can of soda, that has been shaken up, don’t tap the top tap the side! Very cool!

Leave a Reply

