Lent

The season of Lent is upon us. What are you planning on fasting? I hope it isn’t sugar, after all today is Valentine’s Day and I am thinking chocolate is widely loved by a lot of people, not just women. If you are anything like my husband and you don’t really care for chocolate, I bet you still love sugar! My husband’s favorite is cookies. Ok I really don’t want to know if you are observing Lent or not and I deferentially don’t want to know if you are fasting! I know we are called to fast, but I also believe that as Christians we should not be advertising our fasting.

“That thou appear not unto men to fast, but unto thy Father which is in secret: and thy Father, which seeth in secret, shall reward thee openly” (Matthew 6:18).

Are Christians who advertise their fasting trying to please man or do they just not realize they need to keep that between themselves and God? I realize that some may have to know if you are fasting, especially those who are in the same household as you, but does the lady at the BMV really need to know that? I feel like we shouldn’t pick a date and length of time to fast we need to seek God on it and honor Him in doing it. I do have to admit that six weeks of fasting would be a very good, hard discipline, but keep it between you and God who cares what people think?!? We are called to be pleasers of God not of man!

“For do I now persuade men, or God? or do I seek to please men? for if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ” (Galatians 1:10)

I know that Lent is observed by the Catholic community more than anyone else so I wanted to look into that a little more. I have never been Catholic and I don’t know anyone who is Catholic so I have to rely on gotquestions.org (my go to website). Here is what gotquestions.org says. “Lent began as a way for Catholics to remind themselves of the value of repentance.” (What is the meaning of Lent?) It goes on to say “However, over the centuries Lenten observances have developed a much more “sacramental” value. Many Catholics believe that giving something up for Lent is a way to attain God’s blessing. But the Bible teaches that grace cannot be earned; grace is “the gift of righteousness” (Romans 5:17).” (What is the meaning of Lent?)

“For if by one man’s offence death reigned by one; much more they which receive abundance of grace and of the gift of righteousness shall reign in life by one, Jesus Christ.” (Romans 5:17)

If you are a Christian there is nothing wrong with you observing Lent, just keep it between you and God! We should remember the “value of repentance” everyday! Fast away, be pleasing to God in every aspect of your life, but please do it for the right reasons!

For more information or other questions check out Got Questions? Also you can read more about Lent on Got Questions on “What is Ash Wednesday

Leave a Reply

